bookworm

I had my flu shot and ECG this morning and then met up with Uncle Peping. He treated me for lunch. I then went to Powerbooks and bought the following:

img_0665.jpg

John Grisham is one of my favorite authors and I have a collection of his works. This latest offering called “The Innocent Man” was his first non-fiction novel, a true story of a murder and injustice in a small town. It’s the story of a guy named Ron Williamson, how he was arrested and charged for a crime he didn’t commit.  His case was mishandled and he was sentenced to death. The novel was described by Boston Globe as a”crafted legal thriller every bit as suspenseful and fast-paced as Grisham’s best-selling fiction”

img_0667.jpg

I’ve read this book of Mitch Albom I think three (3) years ago and someone borrowed my copy and failed to return it back. I’ve been wanting to read the book again so I bought another copy.

img_0668.jpg

This is Neil Gaiman’s first book of short stories. The book is called “Smoke and Mirrors”. The description at the back of the book says: “His imagination and supreme artistry transform a mundane world into a place of terrible wonders. In this extra ordinary collection of short works by a master prestidigitator, it will surely dazzle your senses, touch your heart and haunt your dreams”. (I’ve read Stardust and Neverwhere and they were simply awesome!)

img_0666.jpg

My first encounter with Nicholas Sparks was the book “A Walk To Remember”, (yes the Mandy Moore movie) and he’s definitely a brilliant chronicler of love and romance. My second book of Sparks was “The Notebook” and the love story of Ally and Noah did inspire me. In this book called “The Wedding”,  the story evolves around a wife who fell out of love with her husband because the latter was unable to express his true feelings for her. When their daughter was about to get married, the wife was already thinking of leaving him. And then the man realized that his love for his wife has grown over the years which gave him the determination to do anything to save their marriage and to make his wife fall in love with him all over again. (I think I’ll get some pointers from this book. he he he)

3 Tugon so far »

  1. 1

    dr jessica alexis quilao said,

    i love john grisham and nicholas sparks. try patricia cornwell as well.

  2. 2

    jude said,

    ayaw mo na ng isagani cruz books? dude, pahiram ng john grisham ha.

  3. 3

    badoodles said,

    iv read one grisham book in my entire lyf – the firm when i was still in law school bec i envy those book maniac prens of mine – sort of my baptism to the ‘reading world’. and it ended der. now i still envy pipol who read a lot but i cant figure out wher to start with and when.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

