the journey continues

when the oncologist walked into my room three days after my bone marrow biopsy,  i told myself “this is the moment“. i tried showing a brave face as i felt the sudden surge of emotions but i guess i’m really not good in acting. after the usual pleasantries he finally opened a brown envelope and read through the results of the biopsy.

i’m on partial remission——meaning the stubborn leukemia finally responded to the chemotherapy but it did not disappear completely with the treatment. (this leukemia must have fallen in love with me and doesn’t want to leave. ha ha ha. silly thought!)

the doctor said my suppressed marrow function is beginning to return to normal but in a very slow rate. this was also confirmed by the latest results of my cbc and reticulocyte count  which were used to evaluate cell production in my marrow. he told me that treatment via radiation therapy plus oral medication will continue so that complete remission can be achieved.

initially, i was disappointed with the result as i was expecting complete remission. the feeling of uncertainty went back to me and consumed me. but when the night came, i found myself talking to God, asking Him “what are you trying to tell me Lord?”, “what do you want me to learn from this new development?“. i asked Him to give me His peace and to hug me as I embark on my journey to radiation oncology.

i already had two sessions of radiation therapy and will have five more the coming days. i’m actually on “break” right now. i personally asked for it as i want to spend the holidays with my loved ones “radiation free”.

i’m keeping my hopes high, trusting Him and letting Him do His will on me. i know that He will complete His work and I’m holding on to His promise that “He will never leave me nor forsake me”.

I then remembered I Thessalonians 5:18 that says “Give thanks in all circumstances….” and i just felt that this is what He wants me to do—to continue thanking Him inspite of all the painful things coming my way and He wants me to look around and appreciate the beauty of life.  there are indeed countless reasons to thank Him for His love and faithfullness. i thank Him for the gift of life, the gift of time, the gift of love, the gift of family, the gift of friends—–the list could go on and on—–mercies that will never come to an end.

again, i want to thank the people who journeyed with me and prayed for me. i want to send my warm hugs of appreciation to my family, my children, my best buddies, friends, classmates, aunts, uncles, cousins, other relatives, family friends, online friends and those who’ve just chanced upon my blog and offered prayers, online strangers and “you” (wink!)  thank you very much.

my journey from brokenman to betterman continues………please journey with me.

a belated merry christmas and a blessed new year to all!

21 Tugon so far »

  1. 1

    etzhel said,

    HB, smile for me Cutie 🙂 (wink!)

  2. 2

    Jovi said,

    We’ll be with you every step of the way, you can count on that. Btw, you still look great… 😛

  3. 3

    balotsky said,

    ang gwapoooooooo!!!! kakabaliw!!!

  4. 4

    lou said,

    talaga naman po kay wafu mo kafatid ahihi…
    we will journey with you lex all the time…
    ingat lagi, A Blessed New Year to you n your loved ones.hugs

    lou n family

  5. 5

    claire said,

    congratulations lex. i’m so happy na you had remission na rin eventhough partial lang at least may progress and i’m positive na you’ll have complete remission soon. praying for you always. God bless my friend. merry christmas and a happy new year.

  6. 6

    ladyracer said,

    my prayers are with you throughout your journey.

    by the way, your slideshow was very informative. i will be on duty at SLMC next year but only at the geriatric ward. it was nice that i get to peek at the chemo room from your slide ‘coz probably we will not be “toured” in that area 🙂

    take care and i’m praying that 2008 will bring more blessings to you and your family.

  7. 7

    pia said,

    tsi, i’m so proud of you. i will always be here for you.take care. hugs!

  8. 8

    […] enough as it is and cheating will erase all the trust that I have for him. Now I’m tagging Lex, LadyRacer, Lizzie, Iya, Brath, Camille, Doc Jun, and […]

  9. 9

    ivy said,

    way to go cuz! hope to see you here at LA soon. labs yah!!

  10. 10

    dec said,

    hi cuz! yeah pumayat ka nga pero you still look so gwapito!!! i bet daming nag-swoon over sa slide show mo. lol! i’m always here naman. when are you treating me sa jt’s? see yah!

  11. 11

    JeanGrey said,

    hi lex! advance happy new year! 🙂 takecare always..

  12. 12

    Alexis said,

    Just hang in there bro! 🙂 Lexes are special people

  13. 13

    chuvaness said,

    We’ll continue to pray for God’s blessing and favor upon you as you are indeed a true inspiration to us all.

    Fight the good fight, finish the course, keep the faith!

  14. 14

    sabby said,

    drooling over your slideshow. my oh my you are so insanely handsome. mwah! mwah! happy new year!

  15. 15

    Daisy said,

    A beautiful life does not just happen. It is built daily with prayer, humility, sacrifice and “LOVE”..(cough, cough) Truly, your journey to a beautiful life will be yours always! Be strong!

    Hope to see you soon! Have a Blissful New Year!

  16. 16

    Dais of malate said,

    Just hang in there “crushie ni B”……(wInk!) 😉

    the Almighty rewards each thoughtful deed you do, recognize sacrifices you make and hear each prayer you say. Keep a strong Faith and continue to receive God’s daily grace and blessings!
    See you soon ! 😉 🙂

  17. 17

    misha said,

    lex, i hope you are feeling better now. i heard the news just now and i’m really worried. God bless on your continued treatment. i’m always praying for you. take care.

  18. 18

    charm said,

    kuya, i’m happy na nag-remission ka na.i’m sure na you are on your way na to recovery. basta wag ka lang susuko and stand firm on your faith. i love you kuya. happy new year.

  19. 19

    gie said,

    as expected, kahit nagkasakit ka ang gwapo gwapo mo pa rin. mas bagay yata sa iyo ang walang goatee. stay gwapo!

  20. 20

    anch said,

    walang kupas talaga. ang gwapo pa rin. the kissable lips haay.

  21. 21

    brokenman said,

    @etzhel, smiling back at you beautiful!!! wink! wink! hugs!

    @jovi, thanks. happy new year!

    @balotsky, thanks for the visit

    @lou, happy new year my friend. regards to your family

    @claire, thanks sa prayers. happy new year

    @ladyracer, thanks for your kind words. happy new year. God bless sa duty mo sa SLMC.

    @pia, thanks tsi. happy new year!

    @cousin ivy, hey lady. i missed your calls sorry. i really hope to see you soon. take care. happy new year.

    @dec, happy new year cuz! JT’s ba gusto mo? mang inasal na lang! he he he

    @jean grey, happy new year and take care too.

    @alexis, thanks 🙂 agree 100%

    @chuvaness, thanks for your kind words. happy new year. God bless

    @sabby, happy new year too

    @dais of malate, happy new year too. hope to meet up with you soon. aristocrat tayo? 🙂

    @misha, thanks for the prayers. happy new year

    @charm, happy new year cuz. miss talking to you

    @gie, thanks kaso tumutubo na ulit eh 🙂 happy new year

    @anch, thanks. happy new year.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

