next level: consolidation therapy

and so my treatment continues……… 

since i’m now done with induction therapy and got partial remission from it, i’m moving on to the next level which is the consolidation therapy. this phase is designed to further diminish the number of cancer cells and achieve complete remission.

my treatment plan is called three-plus-seven method. i was told that this is the most common drug treatment plan for AML. this would mean i will be treated with a combination of anthracycline (which in my case is daunarubicin) for 3 days and 7 days of ara-c.

so, two days ago i had my first round of chemo. daunarubicin was administered manually every 5-10 minutes. i was told that this was the standard procedure as to ensure that the drug doesn’t enter my bloodstream that quick. after almost two hours, they then hooked me to a bag of ara-c. i was a real mess after—was throwing up, grouchy and depressed.

yesterday, my numbers picked up. (ANC: 200; WBC: 1.0; HGB: 9.3 and platelets: 206) but there’s still a leukemia blast in my blood: about 5%. i had chest pains in the middle of the day and there were little aches and pains in my lower back and in my legs. it sure made sleeping very difficult that i had to ask for adavan so i could get some rest. i also got my anti-nausea pill, my all-time favorite, the yellow candy-like drug called zofran.

today, i woke up feeling very lazy and my spirit was down. how i wish i could convince myself that everything miserable will stop dead if i just don’t talk about it. (of course it won’t work that way). i had body pains and was throwing up. suddenly i felt like i was a little scrap of humanity lying in bed, sick and wet. damn!

some relatives visited me and prayed with me so i felt a lot better now. i’m looking forward to my chemo later. i hope my numbers will continue to pick up and then eventually i get complete remission at the end of the treatment. i’m keeping my hopes high.

“……though i walk in the midst of trouble; You preserve my life; You stretch out Your hand against the anger of my foes; with Your right hand You save me”…..Psalm 138:7

thank you my Lord and Savior for Your great love. i am in awe of You. i’m also sending my warm hugs to those who are continuously praying for me. words are not enough to express my gratitude. God bless all of you.

still a long way to go……..but i’m giving it a good fight……..the journey from brokenman to betterman continues!

24 Tugon so far »

  1. 1

    sabby said,

    thanks for this update gwapito. i’m so proud of you. i admire your courage talaga. mwah! hugs for you too.

  2. 2

    etzhel said,

    HB, continue SmAdFu…
    Your faith, love @ courage strengthens tired souls indeed. Smiles back @ you.
    wink wink!

  3. 3

    ella said,

    Ei Lex.

    You are my Flavor of the Month. Hope I did this blog justice. Keep the smiles coming, love.

    http://www.ellaganda.com

  4. 4

    kengkay said,

    hi lex, magpagaling kang mabuti 😀 imagine, lilipad ako mula sa oyropa para lang makita ka!always praying for you…

  5. 5

    maxi said,

    masaya ako while reading your blogs, acceptance is the best key to get away the pain and sufferings from your illness. i don’t know you in person, may awa ang panginoon, he’ll be by your side all throughout the days of your ordeal. I’ll pray for you.

  6. 6

    lilmiz said,

    kaya mo yan kuya 🙂 keep fighting lang.. nothing is impossible sa Kanya 🙂

  7. 7

    dec said,

    hi cuz. thanks for the update.you are always in my prayers. i miss yah. God bless.

  8. 8

    lou said,

    were praying for you lex…an imeem friend of ours bea offered everyday mass for you except mondays in Clark, Pampanga…your strong faith inspired most of
    us kaya wag susuko kaibigan…

    love,
    lou n family

  9. 9

    bea said,

    hi alex!bea here…i’ll always include you n my prayers..kaya mo yan!:)

  10. 10

    […] added to Jacob’s favourite videos by Jacob J This video came from https://brokenman.wordpress.com/2008/01/15/next-level-consolida… No Comment Watched It LOL’d Loved It Hated It Tell ’em 0 0 ratings rate […]

  11. 11

    topher said,

    kumusta dude. buti naman at tuloy tuloy na ang treatment mo. kaya yan.

    click mo nga pala tong link na to.. he he he

    http://www.erektus.ro/intro(english).html

  12. 12

    alphasensei said,

    get well not soon … but now! now! tara na ipapakilala ka pa sakin ni ate jovi! kung ayaw mo madepress, kausapin mo ako. clown ako. hehe.

  13. 13

    Arlene said,

    hi lex, am reading some of your entries and masakit puso ko. can’t breath. you truely are brave! keep fighting — kaya mo yan but always leave it all to God to lessen disappointments.

    here’s sth for u…hope it can make you smile:

    http://sunshineforlife.wordpress.com/2008/01/18/2007-inspiring-blog/

    am glad to come across your blog months back.

    take care and happy weekend!

  14. 14

    eLJhaey said,

    keep on fighting! keep on believing! keep on praying! keep on loving! keep on living!
    all the best ahead LEX!!!

  15. 15

    Win $250 said,

    Hope it all get sorted completely. Happy New Year.

  16. 16

    jackie said,

    hey lex, how are you na? heard the news. are you still at the hospital? hope you are feeling better na. i prayed for you kanina sa sta cruz church. you are a good man. i know hindi ka NYA pababayaan. God bless.

  17. 17

    jabez said,

    hey kuya. yeah, give it a good fight. you can do it. aja!!! ahuu! ahuu!

  18. 18

    janice said,

    hope u are doing well sa treatment mo. kausap ko si kajo kanina. natatawa kami sa mga turn of events. focus on ur medication and don’t mind those ksp’s ha ha ha. they can never put a good man down naman eh. get well soon. God bless.

  19. 19

    romelettedj said,

    i am bloghopping that’s why i end up in your blog. sometimes i wanted to give up when i am so tired of fighthing against my lupus. its not as dreadful as your disease but it is also incurable. but as i look through my life and see my husband and one year old baby, i am always reminded how blessed i am. and this urge me to keep the faith. i see that many are praying for you including me, hang on there and god will always be with you.

    god bless always!

  20. 20

    maracel goteng-fua said,

    hi lex. so nice to read updates from you. praying that you do well with your treatment. you take care always. i hope to see you sa reunion natin this March. God bless.

  21. 21

    brokenman said,

    @sabby, salamat. God bless

    @etzhel, smiling back at you too, wink!

    @ella, wow! ako flavor of the month? thanks. 🙂

    @kengkay, thanks for always praying for me. so kelan ang dating mo sa Philippines? may grand EB ba? take care

    @maxi, amen to that. thanks for the prayers. God bless

    @lilmiz, salamat sa pagvisit. God bless

    @dec, thanks cuz. God bless.

    @lou, maraming salamat. God bless. regards sa family mo

    @bea, hey thanks for offering prayers for me sa clark. thank you din sa friendster invite. God bless. (hindi ka na ba “suplada mode” ngayon? he he he)

    @topher, thanks dude. panalo sa link! he he he

    @alphasensei, talaga clown ka? 🙂 thanks sa pag visit sa blog ko. God bless

    @arlene, hi thanks for your kind words. check ko yung link later. God bless.

    @eljhaey, maraming salamat! God bless

    @jackie, salamat sa prayers. God bless

    @jabez, hey cuz, salamat sa pagbisita sa blog ko

    @janice, thanks for your kind words. kumusta business? God bless

    @romelettedj, hi, thanks for your kind words and for the prayers. i will also include you in my prayers. God bless

    @maracel, classmate salamat sa pagbisita sa blog ko. salamat din sa prayers. yeah, see you sa reunion.

  22. 22

    ezie said,

    I’m glad to hear you are slowly gaining your strength. It also warms my heart to know that our comments are helping you in such a profound manner. I only wish there was more that I can do to help you through these times. If there is anything I can do, well you know the rest . . . . . . . .

    Thinking of you lex…my betterman!

  23. 23

    sherri said,

    my handsome cousin, just wanted to send you some love and some hugs! you are in my heart all the time.i’m glad to hear that you’re feeling better. I’d love to stop by soon, I’ll keep checkin’ the blog to see when would be good to come by. love you!

  24. 24

    brokenman said,

    @ezie, thanks. God bless

    @sherri, hi cuz. thanks for visiting my blog. see you soon.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

