i found my perfect match

…….for bone marrow transplant! wink!

my younger siblings, godfrey and reese, were both tested positive for bone marrow matching and were considered “well matched”. this great news was relayed to me yesterday. based on the results of their tests, the doctors compared the characteristics of their stem cells to my stem cells and found out that the protein content are similar. thank God!

i know i still have a long way to go as i need to have “complete remission” from my “repeated” chemo therapy first before the allogeneic stem cell transplant. but nevertheless, the reality that i now have genetically perfect matches has raise the positive feeling that my body will definitely accept the donated stem cells.

i had my chemo yesterday, the last for daunarubicin. i still have four more days for ara-c and then i’ll have another bone marrow biopsy. i feel a little low today because i’m having  hypercalcemia or high calcium level, which they say is a typical complication from chemotherapy. the nurses are now giving me calcitonin every six to eight hours to lower the calcium level. 

i was talking to the oncologist a while ago re: stem cell transplant and he told me that it is not really recommended for all AML patients because of the high risk in complications and in some cases there are no clear benefits. in my case, he said it seems to be appropriate because i failed to achieve a remission following my initial induction therapy.

i had another session with my psychotherapist this afternoon and it was an hour of expressing my emotions using crayons and colored pencils. i was slumped on the floor doing some drawings of the sun, moon, stars, skies, rainbows, clouds and rain. i felt like a kid again 🙂

oh well, i’m kinda sleepy now so i’ll be taking a nap after posting this entry.

again, i want to say thank you to those who are still offering/whispering prayers for me, those who sent e-cards, encouraging sms, giving me financial and spiritual support—–words are not enough to express my appreciation, i’m overwhelmed.

thank you Lord for Your love and for being true to Your words….i’m pressing on with the journey and i’m trusting You more each day…….continue to do Your will in me.

21 Tugon so far »

  1. 1

    etzhel said,

    Hi Betterman wink 😉
    Keep on smiling & drawing dreams, it’s nice to see the “baby in you”. 🙂

    lex: hi! thanks for seeing the “baby” in me! wink!

  2. 2

    sabby said,

    hi my gwapito. what an amazing and inspiring news. i wish you could see the smile on my face. i miss you. take care. always thinking of you.

    lex: thanks sabs. God bless.

  3. 3

    belle said,

    lex,i’m so happy to hear that you are progressing so well. You are truly an inspiration. I hope you get to go home soon. thinking of you and sending you some warm hugs and kisses!!!

    lex: thanks belle. hey, i got the UCLA shirt this morning 🙂 nice!

  4. 4

    uncle jim and family said,

    We’re thinking about you daily and wish we could be there with you. Your strength is an inspiration. Thanks for sharing the good news. All our love and prayers are with you. Looking forward to seeing you soon. We love you. God bless.

    lex: uncle jim and family, thank you so much for your prayers and for the financial support. i miss all of you. take care. God bless. sending my warm hugs to all of you.

  5. 5

    renee said,

    Sending all my love to you my dear Kuya Lexito. You are an inspiration and a wonderful brave man.
    (Should i say very handsome too? lol!) love you always!

    lex: hey cuz! thanks for your kind words. see you soon. jack in the box? 🙂

  6. 6

    MARU said,

    glad to hear that, lex. goodluck and God bless!

    lex: maru!!!! thanks for the visit. God bless.

  7. 7

    good luck and keep hoping for the best! ^

    lex: thanks raymond! God bless.

  8. 8

    pinky said,

    wow! thank God for this good news. i’m praying na next time yung “perfect match” na ng puso mo ang mababasa ko dito. sana dumating na sya soon. be happy my friend. miss you. God bless.

    lex: salamat pinky. perfect match ng puso ko? hmmm 🙂 salamat sa prayers. God bless.

  9. 9

    ladyracer said,

    after more than a week of feeling low, your good news was God’s way of telling me that there is always hope and a better tomorrow 🙂

    wishing you well always 🙂

    lex: salamat ladyracer. take care 🙂

  10. 10

    eNocH said,

    goodluck pare. magandang balita yan. kaunting dasal pa, magiging OK din ang lahat.

    lex: salamat pareng enoch. God bless 🙂

  11. 11

    lou said,

    that’s really good news mah pren…God really loves you and so do we..we’ll continue the journey with you lex…

    lex: salamat lou. give my warm hugs to your family. God bless.

  12. 12

    manilenya said,

    Now it seem like I am reading Jody Picoult’s My Sister Keeper’s Novel, nevertheless your story is real. I hope that this new development will help you.

    You’re in my prayers Lex

    🙂

    lex: thanks ms. manilenya. i’ll try to read that book of jody picoult’s 🙂 God bless.

  13. 13

    godo said,

    Hang on yaku! Things are in a convolute way so beautiful – but we rarely see them…
    You have heard it over and over again how inspiring you are… to all of us; from those who’ve known you for a day or a lifetime… We have all learned so much from the past few months… How to be strong, tolerant, compassionate, loving, thankful and above all humble… And we have so much more to learn from you… I pray for you to have the strength to be patient and peaceful… Do not be worried if times are tough, do not hesitate to reach out… we love you more every day and you can count on all of us… Do not be afraid to not being strong as strength is merely a measure of how we face our weaknesses.
    I know you will go through the difficult times ahead, and I believe in you! love you biggie bro!

    lex: thanks baby bro! you made me cry. God bless.

  14. 14

    pia said,

    how are you tsi. i’m not feeling well pa 😦

    check this:

    http://sassypia.multiply.com/journal/item/27/lazy_musing_

    u take care. God bless on your chemo. hugs for you!!!

    lex: thanks. God bless.

  15. 15

    Monina said,

    hi lex. i’m sending you much love, strength, support and peace.I’m so impressed with how you are approaching this with such resolve and such a positive attitude. You have such a wonderful circle of family and friends who love you and support you and I know that must be such a source of strength and comfort for you. Get well soon. God bless

    lex: 🙂 i feel so blessed. thanks for the visit. God bless.

  16. 16

    uncle seng, auntie wenie and kids said,

    Lex, my gwapo at mabait na pamangkin, you are so amazing.You deserve every wonderful person who loves you. And we all feel so blessed to have you in our lives. Think of all of us giving you one big hug to help push that cancer out of you.I think of you every day and you are in the prayers I say with my children at night. God bless you. I’m proud to have a wonderful “pangpangkin” like you.

    lex: hey uncle soseng, auntie wens, isaac, miriam, jacob, bathsie and moses. i miss you guys. thanks for the prayers and the financial support. sending my warm hugs for all of you. take care. God bless.

  17. 17

    topher said,

    dude, wakanga! akala ko eh may bago ka nang syota kaya perfect match. he he he. nadenggoy ako ng title. pagaling ka. God bless.

    lex: he he he. salamat dude. God bless.

  18. 18

    marianne said,

    Lex, I am so thrilled and overjoyed to hear the good news. Over the past several weeks, you have helped me believe in so much more. Thanks. Your faith, your courage, your strength and your willingness to endure; you are by far a phenomenal man — If there is one thing I believe in, it’s that…you can keep going, long after you can’t. Love you.

    lex: wow! did i read it right, phenomenal man? thanks for your kind words. God has been so good to me. i couldn’t thank Him enough. thanks for the visit. hope you are doing well especially sa work mo. God bless.

  19. 19

    ponsi said,

    yahoo! wtg kuya! but oops…this post just made me spill my coffee all over my keyboard. You owe me $35. he he he.

    lex: US$35!!!! okay charge it to godo! he he he..thanks cuz!

  20. 20

    ricky said,

    nakikigalak ako sa iyong pamilya sa magandang news na ito. pagaling ka bro. God bless.

    lex: salamat ricky. God bless.

  21. 21

    dec said,

    wow! i cried when i read this post. thank God. this is an answered prayer cuz. He’s really amazing. continue to be positive about your treatment. i miss you. i’m always praying for you.love yah cuz! God bless.

    (to cuz godo, waaaa!! you made me cry,cry,cry promise!)

    (uncle seng @ family: mwah! mwah!)

    (alfonso rameses III aka ponsi, wow ha US$35. i miss you cuz!)

    lex: amen to that cuz! i miss you too. God bless.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

