OT doki

today is my third day doing my OT and i feel good! 🙂  

occupational therapy or OT refers to the use of meaningful occupation to assist people who have difficulty in achieving a healthy and balanced lifestyle.

according to the OT manual that was given to me, occupational therapists work with a variety of individuals who have difficulty accessing or performing meaningful occupations. they work with individuals who have conditions that are mentally, physically, developmentally or emotionally disabling. their goal is to help their clients have independent, productive and satisfying lives. basically, its about helping someone like me, a leukemia patient on remission, get back my independence and enjoy life as normal as possible. isn’t that great?

so my first OT session which lasted for 3 hours was on dressing, we called it “dress for success”.  i told the therapist that i can put my socks, jockey and pants all by myself but its the upper stuff which i find difficult to put on alone. so he helped me in putting on a patient gown as if i’m going to wear  a shirt and then he gave me a small panel with fabric and buttons and he asked me to button up the material like a shirt. it was difficult and painful but i was able to pull it through after 30 minutes. whew! the process was repeated i think 3 times and  after that he asked me to answer a 3-page questionnaire full of abstract figures. whew again!

afternoon of the same day, i was with my physical therapist and i had fun doing some leg exercises and walking. first it was walking with a walker, then with my cane. i was so proud of myself because i was able to walk farther and broke my own record. after taking a break, i had some stress testing and arm exercises. i was exhausted but i felt really good. seeing those sweats coming out made me smile.

second day of OT is on shaving and it was hard. its been a while since i used my hands that way and coordination was difficult at first. i almost cut the side of my lower lip while shaving my moustache. and i felt really sad when we tried shaving a little of my goatee. he he he.

so today is the third day and i still have two more sessions for OT. i feel a lot better now and i want to believe that i’m getting better, well except for a fever spike two days ago.

i can walk now, a few baby steps, without my cane and it felt really great. i hope i could jog and jump soon.

again i want to say thank you to all those who are praying for me and supporting me financially, emotionally and spiritually. thank you so much. God bless all of you.

the journey continues………..ahoo! ahoo! (inspired by “300”) he he he

14 Tugon so far »

  1. 1

    etzhel said,

    Yipeeee! Am so proud of you! 🙂
    Need any help (un)buttoning your shirt? errrr Lol! I
    t sure feels great hearing your endless chuckles.
    Way to go Betterman! wink wink! 😉

    lex: thanks..hmmm..i could use some help really he he he wink! take care. God bless ybab.

  2. 2

    dec said,

    naks naman. mukhang enjoy ka sa therapy mo. miss you cuz. God bless.

    lex: i miss you too cuz. God bless.

  3. 3

    witchy said,

    i will be back to finish all your articles. I’m currently listening in the music videos posted here… toucheeeyyy..

    lex: salamat witchy. nice name. enjoy the videos. God bless.

  4. 4

    ella said,

    my dear lex,

    I had no idea it will be like that….I mean the buttoning thing. Things that we “able” people should be thankful that we can do without even thinking. This post is an eye-opener indeed (for me at least). There are millions of little things that we should be grateful to the Lord every day.

    Mas lalo akong humanga sa ‘yo, friend, at mas minahal kita. God bless you.

    lex: ella, salamat sa comment. sweet of you 🙂 take care. God bless din friend.

  5. 5

    pinky said,

    wow nag shave ka na? eh di mas gwapito ka ngayon. ewan ko ba mas feel ko na wala kang goatee. miss u friend. God bless.

    lex: yeap pero tumubo ulit eh. he he he. God bless.

  6. 6

    sabby said,

    so good to hear this update. hope ur coping well. i miss you. i was walking at greenbelt this morning tapos i smelled ur scent grabe i almost cried. u take care my dear. mwah!

    lex: salamat sabs. God bless.

  7. 7

    topher said,

    akala ko overtime yung OT he he he…nagsusuot ka na pala ng jockey ngayon…improving…whapak…he he he

    pagaling ka dude….kumusta mo ko kay piatot! he he he

    lex: salamat dude. improving ba? malamig eh he he he…ingat. God bless.

  8. 8

    lou said,

    weeeee…galing nman malapit na talaga mag okidoks lahat mah pren…sa susunod baka puro gimik na mabasa ko d2 sa blog mo haha… nakow ganun pala ginagawa ng OT…
    maraming magpresinta nyan sa unbuttoning bwahaha…
    anyways, pagaling at palakas ka lex…Godbless

    lex: hi lou. kumusta na? medyo madami nga he he he…thanks. God bless.

  9. 9

    doray said,

    hellow my dear friend. ang ganda ng blog mo.i love the pictures. you are still as sinfully handsome as ever. bakit walang kwento tungkol sa lovelife? hi hi hi. i miss you. glad that you are doing well na. God bless. see you soon.

    lex: doray, salamat sa visit. kumusta na? God bless.

  10. 10

    ricky said,

    God bless sa therapy mo pare. salamat sa update.

    lex: salamat din pare. God bless.

  11. 11

    Mix said,

    Ahoo! Ahoo! Go Lex! kaya mo yan! Naaalala ko sa post mo noong time na naaksidente ako sa motorsiklo ko, naka cast ako ng 3 months, the almost 2 months akong nag-aral ulit maglakad! I’m proud of you Lex! you can do it man!!! Godspeed! I’ll be sending you some light during my meditation!

    lex: thanks mix. hug nicole for me ha. God bless.

  12. 12

    Fau Rafili said,

    ayos ah…

    lex: salamat fau. God bless.

  13. 13

    ladyracer said,

    ahoo! ahoo! (inspired by you) hehe

    lex: ahoo!!! ha ha ha…thanks ladyracer.

  14. 14

    sommer said,

    hi. i was bloghopping tas napunta ako d2. i am an occupational therapist, and nice to hear you’re enjoying your OT sessions.
    i’ll include you in my prayers.=)

    lex: hi. so you are an OT pala? saan ka naka-based? thanks sa prayers. God bless.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

