My H-line for Healing

After more than a month of being on remission, I went back to the cancer institute for my scheduled consolidation or intensification chemotherapy. The goal of this phase is to destroy any remaining leukemia cells. It was also the start of the preparation for my stem cell transplant tentatively scheduled on July 2008.

First, my Hickman line was reinstalled. It is a silicon tube placed into one of my major blood vessels leading to my heart. It is used for giving treatment directly into a vein for my chemotherapy, administration of intravenous fluids, for my blood transfusion and for taking blood samples. The benefit of this thing is that it will save me the discomfort of having needles repeatedly inserted into my veins. I hate needles really. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

The procedure actually started with a lot of x-rays in my neck and chest. When the vein has been identified, the line was then fitted. The procedure lasted for less than 30 minutes. Of course, it was done with a local anaesthetic and some intravenous sedatives. The line actually enters a vein in my neck (my collar bone) and exits from my upper chest. It was inserted through a tunnel in my skin. There were tingling sensations and pinches of pain during the procedure. It was very uncomfortable and I got four stitches after the incision. Keeping my “dangling line” in place is a stitch placed around the catheter. I was told that the stitch will remain there until the normal tissues has grown enough to hold the line naturally. Also, I was informed that there’s a small cuff in the tunnel which supports the tube.

I had four chemo sessions already using the reinstalled line. And as expected I was wasted, nauseous and exhausted. The day after my second chemo I’ve spiked a fever and was given a liquid paracetamol. When I woke up the next day, my temp went down from 101.2 to 98.5. Thank God.

Just a while ago, I was told that my “precious” Hickman line is due for flushing and cleaning with saline and heparin anytime this week so as to prevent it from being blocked by blood clots and also to avoid contamination. The nurse also told me that they will teach me how to clean it so that I can do the cleaning when I go home. Yahoo!

My oncologist told me that this “thing hanging on my chest” will now become my constant companion and best friend and I better give it a name so that our “bonding” will become more personal. Okay then, so from now on, my hickman line will be called “Hickie”. Ha ha ha.

I’m still up for more chemo sessions the coming days and I’m praying and keeping my faith that God will continuously show His face upon me and that He will help me get pass through it. Bless God!

19 Tugon so far »

  1. 1

    etzhel said,

    Hugging you tight Betterman, making sure “Hickie’s” not looking though, wink 😉 LOL!
    God will be your strength & I am certain He’ll continue holding that very precious line to healing till you’re strong enough to go visit the store again. 🙂

    lex: wow thanks for the hug 🙂 i can’t wait to make that visit. pero di talaga pede yun? yung ano…bawal talaga…err..you know what i mean he he he…wink! take care. God bless. hugging you back.

  2. 2

    dec said,

    hi cuz. salamat sa update. miss na kita ulit. pagaling ka ha. God bless.

    lex: hi cuz. thanks for the visit. ako din miss na kita. you take care. God bless.

  3. 3

    enteng said,

    kumusta dude? yakang-yaka yan. God bless.

    lex: i’m okay naman dude. i’m keeping the faith. thanks. God bless.

  4. 4

    claire said,

    hi lex. glad to hear some updates from you. God bless on your treatment. i’m always praying for you my dear. pagaling ka.

    lex: thanks claire. God bless.

  5. 5

    sabbie said,

    hi mr betterman. aww may chemo ka ulit? wish i could hug you. take care and get well soon. i miss yah!

    lex: yes, consolidation chemo. thanks. God bless.

  6. 6

    jazz said,

    in fairness ang sexy ng pics sa slideshow…kita nips lol! stay sexy and gwapo my dear. i miss you. get well soon.

    lex: thanks. God bless.

  7. 7

    watusiboy said,

    ouch. looks painful. hoping for you continuous recovery.

    lex: thanks. God bless watusiboy.

  8. 8

    ricky said,

    kayang-kaya yan pareng lex. laban pa. God bless at pagaling ka.

    lex: salamat ricky boy. God bless.

  9. 9

    pong said,

    yakang-yaka mo yan. nakaya mo nga yung mga nauna eh. pagaling ka dude. musta na puso mo? he he he. ciao!

    lex: sabi ng cardiologist, okay naman 🙂 God bless dude.

  10. 10

    chuanwei said,

    ========
    ========

    IF YOU NEED A BLOG, DONT FORGET TO SEE HERE: http://www.leoxa.com/
    (The themes is so beautiful & also able to place adsense)

    ========
    ========
    many people have moved from other blog to Leoxa.com blog because the themes is very beautiful

    lex: paging akismet! he he he

  11. 11

    Hello Lex,

    How are you? Just dropping by to say…get well soon.

    lex: thanks ting. kumusta na? sa florida ka ba? God bless.

  12. 12

    ella said,

    Lex, dear,

    Aaaw ang cute mo talaga. Ay sori, the post is about your Hickie nga pala. Konti na lang. Konting tiis na lang, and we all know God will always be with you, my dear friend.

    Pero seryoso, pogi ka pa rin hehe. Sori, can’t resist talaga eh 🙂

    lex: thanks ella. how are you na? hope all is well with you. take care. God bless.

  13. 13

    Jovi said,

    Lex, thanks for the call. I’m glad to hear from you again. That’s right, focus on your treatment. Everything will be ok sooner than you think. God bless…

    lex: thanks jovi.

  14. 14

    godo said,

    hey biggie bro! glad you are keeping the faith. i’m so proud of you! btw, thanks for the peppermint tea. let’s try the forest fruits next time. he he he.

    i know you’ll come out victorious from this phase. just keep on trusting HIM. i’ve always admired your faith and patience so don’t let anyone distract you and stress you.

    wait a minute……who called who……..this is funny……. ha ha ha….dream on….

    btw, “she’s” sending her warm hugs for you…..ehem!

    God bless! be ready for the paint ball competition next month! 🙂

    lex: thanks baby bro! God bless.

  15. 15

    pia said,

    hi tsi. i hope maayos naman ang conso chemo mo. you are always in my prayers. take care always. i miss you. God bless. madaming hugs for my tsi!

    lex: thanks pia. God bless.

  16. 16

    rio said,

    hello lex..hehe..parang close!? first name basis tlga..
    i wish you would feel well soon=)
    im praying for your speedy recovery..=)
    paki hi din ako kay hickie!=)

    lex: salamat rio sa pag-visit sa blog and thanks for the prayers. God bless.

  17. 17

    charm said,

    alexandro, back to chemo ka na ulit? kumusta ka naman? nakakamiss ka talaga. nakakamiss yung mga “bulol” moments mo. he he he. nga pala, ehem. kumusta si “ano”? updated ako excuse me. kaya wag kang mag-deny. ha ha ha. in fairness, bagay kayo. i miss u papa. stay gwapo.

    lex: thanks maria charmita 🙂 sinong ano? 🙂 God bless.

  18. 18

    lou said,

    mah friend,
    nakow syensya na at now lang ako nakabalik d2, naging busy last spring breyk…nywz,as always…keeping our hopes and prayers for you lex…you’ve been through a lot kaya we know yakang yaka mo yan…bilis bilis sa pagpapagaling ha? at nabasa ko sa taas si “ano” baka mainip hehehe…take care fogee
    labyu,
    lou

    hi lou. kumusta na? nabasa mo si “ano”? he he he..take care too. God bless.

  19. 19

    Vaidyan said,

    Dear friend – may God bless you for an early recovery.

    I wish more people look in to Indian Ayuirveda option to get rid of different varieties of leukemia while treatment at advanced hospitals are failing.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

